Denver -> Narita, 11 hours and 40 minutes

I was actually able to sleep (very uncomfortably) for most of the flight, simply because I was so exhausted, having barley slept the two previous nights. We arrived at Narita around 3 pm, and it took us a good two hours to get through customs and immigration. I was presented with my resident card, gathered my luggage and shipped most of it off, and then we were ushered on to busses. Though I could barley keep my eyes open, I stared out the window in aware as we approached the city. Tokyo is massive. It’s hard to grasp the scale. We passed by Tokyo Disney Land, and saw the Sky Tree and the Daikanransha Ferris Wheel.

We arrived at the Kieo Plaza Hotel in Shinjuku and got into our rooms. The hotel was huge and super swanky. I ventured out into Shinjuku with a couple other JETs in search of food. Though I was there, actually walking the streets of Tokyo, I still felt like it hadn’t hit me yet. It was completely overwhelming, with all the lights, people, and noise, but I couldn’t really register any of it. We wandered into a nearby ramen shop. You order at a machine. I hit a random button, having no idea what I was ordering. It turned out to be the best damn ramen I’ve ever had in my life. We went back to the hotel and I PTFO’ed. I’d never felt so glad just to be lying horizontally before in my life.

20160724_214042
Ramen Shop
Leave a Reply

