Kiyose Sunflower Festival

On Sunday I went to the Kiyose Sunflower Festival. Kiyose is pretty far out in west Tokyo, where there is actually open space and agriculture. I had to take a bus to get there, and it was my first time taking a bus in Japan. Thanks to Google Maps, I made it to my stop on time, going the right direction. I was feeling pretty proud of myself when I saw the bus, Number 21, heading towards me. And then it just blew right past!!! I don’t know why. I waited for the next bus, which was only about 10 minutes. When I saw the bus coming, I started waving frantically, looking (as I usually do in Japan), like a huge gaijin idiot. Whatever, at least the bus stopped for me. I’m starting to get the hang of the subways, but I’ve got to work on the busses yet.

The Sunflower Festival was really nice. It was just big fields, planted with thousands of sunflowers, many of them taller than me. It was a simple activity, but it made me happy to walk through the sunflowers, and just to be out in open space.

20160828_132711
Just a lot of sunflowers!
14115575_10154491893788887_91762997276086376_o
Me playing in the sunflowers
20160828_142014
Creepy Jack Skeleton Sunflower

We walked around, took pictures, and I bought a little potted sunflower to take home and brighten up my apartment. Then we went out for curry, and I ate the biggest naan I’ve ever seen in my life. Sunday funday!

20160828_155918
Kiyose’s biggest naan!
Leave a Reply

